Monday, December 22, 2008

Hello from Tennessee!

Hii Everyone,

I'm sitting in the cabin waiting for everyone to get ready for our last day in Gatlinburg, TN. Today, we are going to Dollywood and it is supposed to be 33 degrees. So let's just say, we're going to FREEZE on the rides. Tonight it wil be all lit up. I can't wait. Last night we went to The Dolly Parton's Dixie Stampede. SOOO MUCH FUN! My favorite thing thus far. You were served a four course meal redneck style. Everything was to be eaten by hand. We had a mouth watering routisserie chicken, a slice of pork, cream of vegetable soup, a homemade biscuit, a potato wedge, and your choice of drink in a mason jar. For dessert, an apple turnover. Just about everyone had been to one before, I on the other hand hadn't. I was trying to eat and watch at the same time. Chris was making sure that I wouldn't miss a thing. There was so much going on. The riders were doing tricks on their horses, and there was a live nativity scene, with wisemen on camels, and livestock. Words can't explain. I definitely want to bring my family here. They would love it. Anywho, I need to finish getting ready, but here are a few pictures....

This is the ornament Chris and I got personalized at the Christmas Place...Mom, Maw Maw, and Court...Ya'll would live in here
Our souvenier cup from The Dixie Stampede which was filled with Orange Cremecicle Slushie

Til next time...I should have many more pictures to come!

Saturday, December 13, 2008

FINALS ARE THE DEATH OF US

So, I'm taking a break to procrastinate a little bit. Chris and I have been in the library for 4 hours now and I think I might have an anxiety attack soon. I have 4 study guides as well as him. Two or our test are cumulative, and I asked myself earlier. Why would a teacher have a mid-term and then have a cumulative final. What is the point of stressing us out over the same material TWICE! It's very irritating. Not only are we stressed, but all we can think about is 6 days from now, we'll be in Gatlinburg, TN and then soon home with our families. BUTTTT, 5 finals for me and 4 for Chris are standing in our way! I forgot how horrible Finals were because I was blessed with only 3 last year. We ate breakfast and for our choice of FINALS APPETIZERS we brought 4 clementines, a box of sweet tarts from the movies last night, 2 caramel macchiatos however you spell that, and a bottle of water. Oh and some crackers that we devoured about an hour ago...so needless to say I'm hungry.

Tonight, we are having Jordan, Jarrad, and Midas over for dinner and to watch the UNC game...and BBQ is cooking at home in the crockpot, and I'm so excited for it. Then tomorrow will be filled with more exam studying. I'm now thankful that we aren't working til the 28th because a lot of my classes are borderline C to B or B to A....and my final assignments and exams will determine them. So I need all the time I can get....ok enough procrastinating...back to these dreadful study guides...

I CAN'T WAIT TO GET OUT OF HERE!

Monday, December 8, 2008

Our Christmas Cocktail Party

403 Christmas Cocktail Party 2008

Chris, Me, Cara, Brittany
So happy :-)

This is why we're best friends


This doesn't make me and Britt look like lobsters. We tanned just a little too long that day.

By far the cutest picture of Harper and Me.


Ohh this is l.o.v.e


So I think eventually, we'll need a bigger tree =)

Time for Mistletoe and Holly ;-)
...ok so now I'm really counting down until Christmas Break...11 days until Gatlinburg!





















Saturday, December 6, 2008

1 week down, 2 to go!

Hello All,

Well, we've gotten the worst week out of the way. I'm beginning to think this past week is worse than final exam week. Chris and I turned in all of our semester long assignments. I just have a presentation and an electronic career portfolio due on Friday and Chris has another presentation. Today, we are studying for our Outback menu test. (It's kinda intimidating!)

Later tonight, the girls have decided to carry on a tradition we've been attending since we were sophomores. A couple of our girlfriends used to hold a Christmas Cocktail Party every year, but they are alums now so it's are turn to carry it on. So we have that tonight, and Chris and I have our test tomorrow.

In the meantime, we'll be tuned into football ALL day! GO HOKIES & GO GATORS!

I don't know about Chris, but I've started the countdown to Gatlinburg...only 13 days to go! :-)
I can't wait to relax and enjoy the scenery. I'm especially excited about Dollywood and the Dixie Stampede!

Well I hope everyone had a great week! We're just happy ours is over haha!

Til next time...

Friday, November 28, 2008

I'm Going to be an Aunt...for the 1st Time!

So, I'm finally allowed to let this secret out. My older sister is 13 weeks pregnant with her first child, my first lil niece or nephew, and my parents first grandchild, and my grandparents first great grandchild. So needless to say, this lil one is going to be SPOILED! And, I have to admit, I'll be doing alot of it.

Black Friday...
So my Mom and I woke up at 3:45 am to get to Kohls by 4am to purchase my parents first fake Christmas tree...it was a sad thing, but the tree was such a good deal. It was hilarious though because my Mom dropped me off at the door so I could go claim ours, and this lady who had already checked out said to me in a war-zone voice, "Good Luck." I told her this was my first experience of EARLY morning Black Friday shopping. I have to admit, it wasn't that bad. Then my Mom and I continued to shop for everyone. I've bought all of Chris' stuff, and now I have to work on everyone else. We finished around 10:30 a.m.

Anywho, just wanted to do a little update before bed. I'm heading back to Radford tomorrow, so I can get all my work done, and just because I miss Chris and want to see him. So the sooner the better. It's sad, I'm around him every day of my life, and I still can't get enough of him. That's why I love him so much...

til next time,

Goodnight and Sweetdreams Everyone.
I hope everyone had a blessed Thanksgiving

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

So I've been told I needed to update... :-)

First off, sorry everyone for the lack of updates. The last week before break was super busy, and I just didn't have much time to sit down and write. Well, Chris and I got the jobs at Outback...yippee! They ended up giving us our Thanksgiving Break off, and we were able to surprise our parents by coming home. We packed in a matter of 30 minutes, and we were off to Charlottesville, to surprise Chris' Mom who was visiting her Mom. She had absolutely no idea. I tell you what, I couldn't stop smiling because it was so nice to be able to come home to the ones we love to spend the holiday together. We stayed the night in Charlottesville, woke up the next morning and left for Va Beach to surprise my parents. We arrived here around 1pm and waited for my parents to get home from church. The first thing my Mom said was, "You're a liar," because I told her that we were in Christiansburg getting Chris' car looked at. HAHA. They were surprised as well.

Chris and I had a lot of fun the few days he was here. We went to lunch with my Mom on Monday, and then did what I loved to do when I have no money and that is window shop...hehe! It's always fun to dream. Later on Monday, Chris, Kendall, and I went to my MawMaw's house to put her Christmas Tree up for her. She decorates her tree in hearts, and there are a TON of them. I don't know how we managed to get all of them on there. Tuesday, we went to UNO's for lunch since we don't have one at school. Then we went to the beach to takes some pictures. We made baked spaghetti for dinner and then went to see the Holiday Lights at the Beach. That was hysterical! Harper was growling at the light up ducks and swans, and barking at the cars behind us. Chris videotaped me singing "The 12 Days of Christmas." Too bad he erased it..hehe

Chris left this morning to go home, and I already miss him. I've been bored ever since. We got home from taking him to the interstate, and Harper was looking all over the house for him. It was so sad. Now it's time to start working on some homework that is all due next week. BOOO!

Here are some recent pics that we've taken...








































Sunday, November 9, 2008

We begin to celebrate early in college...

Here by popular demand are some pictures of the beginning of the holiday season...Starting with my little elf :-)

....I was the photographer...that is why I'm not in any of the pictures. HAHA



































































Saturday, November 8, 2008

Oh how I love Saturdays...

Thank goodness this week is over! However the last 5 weeks, yep you heard me right, 5 weeks left in our semester, are going to be so stressful! This week I became so overwhelmed with all the work that I have due by December; I had to write is all down on one piece of paper so I didn't forget to turn something in on time. Let me list for you the things I have to complete by December 12th....

  1. A 4-6 page paper analyzing the movie "When Harry Met Sally" from a communication perspective.
  2. A 12-15 page paper analyzing a communication theory. Thank goodness this one is a group paper.
  3. A 4-6 page paper analyzing from a communication perspective an organization in which I have or am involved in.
  4. A 10-15 minute presentation on "Whistleblowers," the people who speak up about ethical issues in their organization and risk losing their job.
  5. A paper job portfolio
  6. An electronic job portfolio
  7. As well as many more exams and final exams

....yes, I'm STRESSED.

Other than that life is getting better, but we are looking forward to all of our holiday breaks coming up. Last night we went out with Jonathan and Cara. We had Outback for dinne, delicious, and then went to see the movie "Role Models." It was hilarious! It's one of those movies that have the stupid humor and is way out there, but still manages to make you laugh. The only downside was that we were sitting 3 rows from the front. I thougtht I was gonna get motion sickness. I don't know how I didn't, but I did get a kink in my neck every 5 minutes! No fun!

We're watching the UNC and GA Tech game right now. UNC is up by 7 in the 1st quarter. Florida doesn't play until 8pm.

Oh yeah, and our Christmas tree is up and looking sooo purdy! Now we just need snow! :)

That's all for now....Have a good weekend!

Monday, November 3, 2008

Bath Day for Harper

I don't think I have ever seen so many leaves attached to Harper's fur! Today, he was due for the B-A-T-H. I figured that I would catch everyone up on our weekend while Harper is running around my room air-drying. Last week was super busy, and it was time for a break. Chris and I went home to his house for the weekend or more like a day and a half...just not long enough is more like it. We left around 8:30am Saturday morning, and passed more than 25 cops along the way. Mom's says they are looking out for our safety, Chris and I said they were trying to win Bingo. It was like one after another. One time we saw 3 within a mile. Ridiculous! Anywho, we got to Chris' aroud 12:30.

We hung out with his mom for a little bit, and then it was nap time. Later we rode a lonnnnnng hour and 15 minutes to this steakhouse that is phenomenal! The restaurant is an old country place up in Luray with the laid back, full service restaurant atmostphere. I tell you what, the ride up there is breath-taking, and for me stomach-aching. HAHA....I told Chris by the time we got out of the mountain my palms were sweating. I had to concentrate on the road ahead of us so I wouldn't get sick. I got a petite filet and baked potato...which is the best around, and Chris got the same but a sweet potato instead. After dinner we rode back toward his house and stopped at Effy's the local soft serve icecream parlor. It's last day open for the year was yesterday. As usual I got a vanilla and chocolate twist cone.

Sunday was Matt's (Chris' brother) 18th Birthday party with some of his friends and Chris' family. His grandma was in town and I was so excited because I hadn't seen her since this Summer. She made a delicious potato salad and she puts celery in hers. I may have to try that. ANNND for this first time in my life, I tried baked beans. Chris' mom made those....loved them! We sat around and chatted for awhile and caught up on life. Meanwhile, the Cowboys were losing...hehehehe! Later came double chocolate cake and Halloween yellow cake. mMm!

Chris had a lot of homework to do, that involved online articles, so we had to leave last night instead of today, but that was ok because we had a fun ride back. EXCEPT FOR......this SUV that had their HIGH BEAMS on the entire way down 81 and they kept passing us then slowing down and we would pass them then have their brights in our eyes all the way until Exit 109...Radford! At one point, I made a sign and held it up in the window! TURN HIGH BEAMS OFF!!! It was so annoying...and she didn't realize that they were on. It was so bright you could see into other people's cars. You could make out every detail of their face! Anywho, we got home last night around 10:30ish. We played with Harper and then to end our night, I spotted a dumpster fire. Chris said it was the fastest he'd ever seen me run. While I was running to it, he was calling 911 amongst the rest of the 25 people out there watching it engulf in flames. It was probably the funniest thing to see the Radford Fire Dept. boys run with the hose to put the fire out. HAHA we were cracking up!

Well, Harper is about halfway dry. Now it's time to blowdry this fur ball. Hope everyone has a good week!

P.S. GO REDSKINS...annnnd we're decorating early this year. Christmas tree is going up tonight. :-)

Monday, October 27, 2008

Pumpkin Carving is an art....




Let's see, we started carving pumpkins yesterday when it was still daylight. We finished around oh 9:30pm. I'm not a big fan of my pumpkin because I picked a design waaay above my skill level. I almost threw it away :( Buuut, Chris came to the rescue and fixed my itty bitty spider. We made quite a mess, and had fun doing it.




I found batteries for my camera (temporarily til I get my present I've been waiting for since Valentine's Day...hehe) to capture the moments we've been spending together. I got a lot of cute ones of Chris and Harper. I'm laying in bed right now and it's about 11:30pm, and I'm watching Harper pick on Chris and lay on his laptop and binders. Chris thinks he's telling him to stop studying so he can go to bed. HAHA It's too cute!



Well, back to work tomorrow. Boo! Chris and I were in the library tonight for 4 hours working on homework. He's been studying for his Forensic Anthropology exam and I had a Business and Professional Communication take home midterm test. NOT EASY! We both registered for our classes for the last semester of college!! Woohoo! I bet a parents are thrilled! However, it is not an easy road ahead. We both have a jam packed schedule next semester, but it works well because we hold each other accountable. We find ourselves counting down the days til we graduate...and it just seems so close but so far away! Things are a little stressful down here, I'm trying to make do with the job I have, but it just isn't enough right now, so I think I'm going to apply at other restaurants and do the whole waiting tables thing again. I miss bringing home money every night I worked. It tough right now, but I told Chris that as long as we stick by each other we'll get through it, and I'm praying we do! That's all for now...hope everyone is having a good week, and enjoy the pics! God Bless!

Saturday, October 25, 2008

Lazy Fall Saturdays...

Well, I don't have work today which is very nice considering the last 2 weeks have been jam-packed with midterms and papers. Chris and I are watching the VT and FSU game right now, and he is decked out in all his Hokie gear. (jersey, pj pants, and slippers) haha... I think we're going out to dinner tonight, just us. A good time to get out of the house together with no worries.

Halloween is right around the corner and my roommate Brittany has decorated the front of our house with spiderwebs, pumpkins, skeletons, and an "Enter If You Dare" sign on our door. It's the best one on the block I think. We've all decided to carve pumpkins or as Brittany would say...parve cumpkins...on Sunday. I'll post pics soon after that. We stilllll need to do the corn maze though. It's not a pretty day for that though, maybe tomorrow.

We plan on going to Chris' home in Northern VA next weekend for his brother's birthday. So that will be nice to get away which we haven't been AWAY since July. One more midterm to go this week and a test or two for Chris this week. Hopefully we'll do well...


Countdown to small vacation: 7 days

Oh Yeah....GO GATORS...nice whoopin' today 63-5